Hiiii everyone :D

Mar. 23rd, 2026 05:13 am
harryschreine: (Default)
[personal profile] harryschreine posting in [community profile] addme_fandom
If you may notice, this is my second time posting my introduction here. Pleasepleasejustforgetthefirstonehuwaaaaaaa

Name: Charikleia, just simply call me Chari!
Age group: Early Millenial
Country: Indonesia

Subscription/Access Policy: Don't like, don't read! My journal for archiving fannish stuff and my hobbies resources will be open for everyone. However, daily journaling and talking about my hobbies and real life photographing stuff only accessible for people and friends I trust. Just one thing: I am very shy in nature and always live in my own world... but I do always explode in euphoria in embarassment and rolling on my bed if any of you leave a comment on my journal to chat xD (That means, I am very happy for you to talk with me!!)
But, sorry, sometimes I am somehow a bit clueless and the self-consciusness is inevitable with people. But, no worries. I've been always relaxed and chill. ;)

Also, I still talk about fannish things in LJ 2000s way. Please be prepared for my silly expressiveness ehehehehehehe 
;'////DDDDD I've been always comfortable and accepting myself to love having such an exciting and enthusiastic atmosphere. Please keep in mind.
I prefer someone from my age range from 25 and up. But 18+ is a must, since I archive lots of hot slashy and het in fics and fanarts media, but it's been a sweet romantic love anyway. :p I am pretty vanilla person.

One more important thing: I am here to enjoy my free time to heal, relax, have exciting fannish time, aaaand simply just chat. I will not subscribe to any journal who also talks about serious and sensitive stuff. I prefer fandom-only and casual daily life journal.

I like to post about: Fics, fanarts, music reccomendation, hobby resources, daily journaling, beautiful Nendoroid, landscape and foods photography~

Main Fandoms: I enjoy my fandoms together at the same time. So, there is no main fandom at the moment o.o
Other Fandoms:
- Men's Footie RPF, I only wrote for 2000s players for German NT and Bundesliga, 2000s to 2010s for Greece NT, and justalitteVERYbit of 2000s Eredivisie.
- Ace Attorney/Gyakuten Saiban. I strongly prefer for original canon Japanese and refers characters names in Japanese instead, I've been very long in this fandom on Asian fandom side and not that familiar with Western fandom and the Japanifornia. Sorry, if that's okay for you xD
- and many other more that I prefer not to mention, simply because I am not interested in the fandom anymore, but sometimes I can join in and have some small fannish exchange activity.
Fannish Interests: I also self-ship myself with the character Mitsurugi Reiji (Gyakuten Saiban) but I never had a mood to have a self-ship fannishactivities, Just a little sketch of my OCsona and him will do. I am mirror-sharing ;)
Favorite 2D Husbu and 3D Idol: Mitsurugi Reiji (Gyakuten Saiban) & Angelos Charisteas (Footie)

Glinda Go Zoom!

Mar. 22nd, 2026 06:56 pm
glinda: roller derby girls on track with lens flare (roller derby)
[personal profile] glinda
Oooft, I have missed skating.

(For the newer readers, I used to be a roller derby referee. Roller skating - quad skates - was a big part of my life for the back half of my twenties and my early thirties. I drifted away from it after I moved up to Inverness, but I’ve loved roller skating since I was a little kid, so while I don’t really miss derby these days I do miss skating.)

I’m still on my ice hockey kick after the Olympics and one of the knock-on effects is being really aware of how much I miss skating. I’ve been meaning to check when the public ice skating sessions are and try to convince one of my skating buddies to chum me along to a session for ages, and this weekend I finally did it. And it was great!

I haven’t been on any sort of skates since before the pandemic and I think the last time I was actual ice skates was in Princess Street Gardens just before Xmas 2013 when my then girlfriend decided that would be a cute date idea and then spent the whole session clinging to either the edges or my hand! I wasn’t sure how well it would go, but after a slightly wobbly start it all came back to me satisfyingly fast. (My buddy was even rustier but also got the hang of it eventually, we did a fair bit of skating round holding hands like kids because she’s had a stressful week and was getting into her head about it. That was pretty fun too. We had a lot of fun reminiscing about ice discos from our teen years.) The ice was a mess so I didn’t dare try crossovers or anything too fancy. (The kids team had practice that morning, and I don’t think they bothered to send the zamboni out between sessions as we got there at the start of the session and it was pretty roughed up already.) The rink skates are super rigid so my feet are a bit sore from that - actually I ache all over from nearly 90 minutes of skating, but I had so much fun. My buddy gave up after the first 45 mins of so and went and got a hot drink and heckled from the sidelines while I went zooming around gleefully with a big stupid grin on my face. I was high as a kite, all the good endorphins. We’re going back - or at least we’re going to try the rink at Aviemore instead. I cannot stop grinning!

( I do not need my own ice skates. I do not.)

spoil deadloch s2 for me

Mar. 22nd, 2026 11:35 am
fiachairecht: (autumn 2)
[personal profile] fiachairecht
In one (1)!! specific way — I suspect I already know the answer to this, because unlike most of fandom I did actually watch the season 1 that the Kates gave me and not the season 1 in my head, but new season new possibilities however extremely slight for disappointment!

Anyway, does s2 end with Cath and Dulcie still together y/n.

('Kimara can't you spoil that for yourself' not without seeing both shitty opinions on Cath and also spoilers for other things, so I don't wanna.)

Project Hail Mary movie

Mar. 21st, 2026 10:57 pm
sholio: Made by <lj user=aesc> (Atlantis city)
[personal profile] sholio
We went and saw Project Hail Mary this afternoon. It was terrific. I loved it.

You can read my (positive and spoilery) reactions to the Project Hail Mary book at this post from 2024.

If spoilers matter to you, I recommend very strongly going in as unspoiled as possible, including not watching the trailer.

Talking about the movie some more, and movie vs book )

(no subject)

Mar. 22nd, 2026 05:10 am

It's not actually my birthday

Mar. 22nd, 2026 12:25 am
silver_chipmunk: (Default)
[personal profile] silver_chipmunk
But I celebrated it today.

Started out with breakfast and coffee and showering and dressing and heading to my Al-anon meeting. It was small but good.

The S and G and I went to a different diner for lunch. I got French onion soup, whihc was good but not as good as the other diner. Then I went home via the 12 bus to Parsons Blvd. It was a nice springlike day.

Got home and went to the Starsky and Hutch episode watch and chat. I actually got to see a part of the episode, The Collector. Then we chatted until I left at 5:15.

I got ready to go meet the Kid and her boyfriend and [personal profile] mashfanficchick at Applebees in Astoria. That meant taking the 66 bus.

The bus was running with delays for some reason, and I waited about half an hour for it to show up. I was afraid I would be late meeting the Kid, but I got there right on time, and just as she and her boyfriend were arriving. ([personal profile] mashfanficchick had called me and said ze would be late). They had a big bouquet of flowers for me.

We got seated and ordered drinks. When [personal profile] mashfanficchick texted to say ze would be there in 15 minutes we ordered food (Ze had texted me zer order)

The food was excellent, and the Kid only a little annoying with her lecturing me about my weight and finances. I know she only does it cause she loves me.

I got dessert, and then we left. I took the 66 home again, only had to wait 7 minutes this time.

I got home around 10:00, and fed the pets and put the flowers in a vase. I Teamed the FWiB and we talked for a little less than an hour.

Then I frantically played solitaire cause I had an event that was ending at 12:00. I finished with literally one minute to spare!

And now it's time for bed.

Gratitude List:

1. The FWiB.

2. The Kid.

3. [personal profile] mashfanficchick

4. The Starsky and Hutch fandom.

5. My meetings and the people there.

6. Finished that solitaire event on time.

tangent from the ballet questions

Mar. 21st, 2026 09:30 pm
muccamukk: Juli on a ladder shelving library books, sunbeams giving him wings. (Heart of Thomas: Wings)
[personal profile] muccamukk
Is there a retelling of Sleeping Beauty (the general plotline, not the ballet specifically) in any media that deals with the whole castle being asleep for a hundred years?

Like, I assume that A Castle is a significant economic unit, and having it fuck off behind a hedge for five generations, and then pop back into life has some effects on the surrounding countryside? (I guess in the ballet they put the whole kingdom to sleep? WHICH I ALSO HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT!)

Like your daughter is a maid in the castle, then poof! behind a hedge! But then she's back to meet her great grand nieces?

What if you had a financial relationship with the castle?

What if the neighbouring duke or whatever wanted your land? I assume he'd just take it, at that point, but then poof! the castle's back?

But also, the fey showing up and doing things seems to be normal and expected in this universe, so maybe people are just used to it, and have contingency plans for people stuck sleeping behind a hedge for five generations?

Anyway, is there like a novel that deals with this? If not Sleeping Beauty directly, then something similar, where it's a whole bunch of people forming a significant political and economic unit essentially yeeted out of time for a hundred years?

(Hard no on anything that involves the rapey version of Sleeping Beauty.)

New to dreamwidth!

Mar. 22nd, 2026 10:42 am
mesona: Anime-style girl with dark green hair (Default)
[personal profile] mesona posting in [community profile] addme

Name: Mint


Age: 22


I mostly post about: Daily life and hobby updates


My hobbies are: I enjoy Vocaloid music, Vtubers, Anime/manga, literature, birdwatching, knitting and crochet, playing rhythm games. I'm also a programmer and may bring up tech stuff occasionally. I'm learning to draw.


My fandoms are: Current hyperfixation is NBA (go Nuggets). I keep up with F1 casually. I follow paleontology and aviation news. Currently reading JJBA, Chainsaw Man, slowly watching Dark Winds. Check my About Me sticky for the full list of stuff.


I'm looking to meet people who: Are also writing personal journals and forming community. Besides that, people who write or read more structured content. Such as personal journal, hobby updates, recipes, guides, media reviews, short stories. Bonus if you're posting outside of America (I'm from Southeast Asia myself).


My posting schedule tends to be: Few times a week.


When I add people, my dealbreakers are: Obviously don't be bigoted, though I assume most people on this site aren't. Probably won't come up often, but I'm not a big fan of people who post inflammatory or reactionary takes.


Before adding me, you should know: I will probably be posting about experiences with mental/physical health stuff, as I am AuDHD and am working through cPTSD. It won't be my main topic, but just a heads up that some of my posts will be heavy, and they'll have a content warning if they are.

[personal profile] cosmolinguist

On a single tube train alone the other day, I saw two people in black thin-rimmed aviators and all I could thin was well now I know what I want my next pair of glasses to look like!

Never felt so much like a dad, possibly because that style always reminded me of my dad since that's what he wore when I was a little kid.

But one of these two people was a young person of ambiguous gender presentation, so I have hope that such things can become fashionable among the queers.

I'm due an eye test, and presumably new glasses, so I've been keeping an eye out for what kind of frames I might want (since the narrow rectangular thick-framed "hipster glasses" that seem to suit me best are not as readily available as they once were! the frames I have now are boring as hell, too big and too round for me even though they're not as much of either as has been popular lately).

dancingontheblades: (Default)
[personal profile] dancingontheblades posting in [community profile] addme_fandom
Name: you can call me Cat
Age group: early millennial
Country: Germany
Subscription/Access Policy: All my posts will be public. I subscribe back if our interests overlap sufficiently and your posts suggest that we are on the same wavelength. I prefer to interact with people in my age group (30 and older), but being 20+ is a must. I do not tolerate conservative/right-wing views, harassment, hate against people because of their sexuality, gender, skin colour or religion, anti-science views, use of generative AI. I do not subscribe to accounts who post a lot of politics, I'm here to have fun.


Fannish Interests

Main Fandoms:
Yuri!!! On Ice, figure skating
Fannish Interests: writing fanfiction, writing essays (meta), discussing canon, reading fanfiction (I only read in my secondary fandoms), fanart
OTP: Katsuki Yuuri/Viktor Nikiforov
Ships: I ship only characters that have romantic chemistry/subtext and get together in canon. I believe that everyone is free to ship characters as they wish, but I ignore most non-canon ships if they're not my cup of tea.
I will post about: thoughts on my writing (ideas, progress, updates), thoughts on canon, canon analysis


About Me/Other Info:

I'm a queer fanfiction writer and a cat mom. My pronouns are she, they. I've been writing since 1998 and I've been writing consistently and mostly fanfic since 2009. Except for the occasional canon divergent gedankenexperiment, I strictly write canon-compliant—preferably sequels, but I've also written quite a number of prequels and fanfics that close the gaps in the source material. Being autistic makes me extremely monotropic in my interests and I keep them for a long time. Therefore, YOI is only the second fandom I'm writing fanfic for.
I'm migrating from tumblr because I don't vibe with the overall atmosphere there.

I read queer books and SFF. My taste in music comprises hard rock, metal, generally '80s, and classic music. And I watch a lot of anime.

A quiet Saturday

Mar. 21st, 2026 11:59 am
sholio: (B5-station)
[personal profile] sholio
I posted some more Babylon 5 fic in the last couple of days: a new Londo/G'Kar fake dating fic plus a new chapter of the B5 catacomb WIP.

It's been a year this month since I started watching the show - my first post under the B5 tag was posted March 3, 2025 after watching the first couple of episodes. Still completely gone on it! I regret nothing!

In other news, NYT gift link to an article about Paul Brainerd, creator of Aldus PageMaker and inventor of the term "desktop publishing." This was a fascinating nostalgia read for me because, while I had no idea of the actual history, this guy (and Adobe and Apple) created the professional world of my young adulthood. My first job out of college in (I think) 1998 was working in the layout department of a newspaper that had just recently (last few years) gone from paste-up to an all-Mac layout room using a program similar to PageMaker from a third-party software maker that no longer exists. PageMaker - which I also learned to use in the college computer lab, and later at work - was the direct predecessor of InDesign, widely used even today. It's interesting to think back on those old newspaper days and how thoroughly they shaped me and continue to shape me. The computer/layout/marketing experience I got as a layout artist in the late 90s and 2000s has been immensely useful for my current self-publishing career.

It continues to be horrendously cold. We've been sitting under a high-pressure ridge and have had gorgeous sunny days that are absolutely freezing. It was -20F when I got up this morning and it's 0F out there right now. My husband's (uni-age) students are over here today because they wanted to help him dig out an ancient non-working snowblower that someone gave us ages ago from a snowbank and try to get it working again. (We do actually have TWO other snowblowers. This is just for fun.)

I took this picture on a walk up our driveway to the highway to get the mail a couple of days ago:

a long expanse of snow-covered road with piles of snow on each side

At least at this time of year, the sun warms it up SOMEWHAT during the day - in January it can sit at -40 24/7 for weeks; at this time of year we're still experiencing 20-40 degree increases during the day .... which is still barely enough to push us above 0F. The 10-day forecast shows that it will be glacially (haha) warming up, but still may not have crawled into above-freezing temps by the end of the month. UGH, I'M READY FOR SPRING.

movies: The Revenant and Stalker

Mar. 21st, 2026 11:58 am
snickfic: (Buffy Willow)
[personal profile] snickfic
The Revenant (2015). A wilderness guide (Leonardo Dicaprio) left for dead after being mauled by a bear goes on a revenge quest against the trapper (Tom Hardy) who killed his son.

As suggested by that summary, this extremely whumpy, if you're into that, to a point well beyond realism. Somehow our guy Glass struggles through total wilderness for tens of miles with myriad open wounds and a broken leg, and rather than dying of deprivation, exposure, or infection, he actually gets better. By the end of the movie he's barely even hobbling anymore. Also, the people in this movie spend so much time tromping through and even immersed in barely-melted icewater that I expected them to either die of hypothermia or lose some toes to frostbite in the first twenty minutes.

This is also an incredibly linear movie. There are no surprises here, no unexpected decisions or developments. No depths of character are revealed. It's also incredibly male-centric. The only female character with lines is Glass's wife, who's dead before the movie even starts, and the only other woman on screen is a Native woman-shaped Macguffin who gets raped on screen, then rescued, but never gets to speak. Even worse than that, to me, is that we get nothing of Glass's relationship with his half-Pawnee son at all. Other than simmering resentment over unjust treatment, we don't have any sense of the kid's personality or Glass's dynamic with him, which makes for a weaker movie and also makes it hard to believe in the movie's pretensions of giving a shit about the effect of European colonization on Native peoples.

I watched this for the scenery, and I will say it was great on that front. Lots of snowy crags, excellent! I also really enjoyed Will Poulter and Domhnall Gleeson, who round out the cast.

Cannot believe this beat Mad Max: Fury Road for best picture.

--

Stalker (1979). Wikipedia summary: a man called a stalker guides two clients through a hazardous wasteland to a mysterious restricted site known simply as the "Zone", where there supposedly exists a room which grants a person's innermost desires.

This is a Soviet movie by director Andrei Tarkovsky, who also did Solaris. If I'd realized that, I could have better set my expectations for this movie. I watched it because the premise gave me cosmic horror vibes and specifically because it felt like a precursor to a bunch of more recent cosmic horror that I've loved or at least loved concepts from, including Jeff Vandermeer's Southern Reach trilogy and movies like A Dark Song, Malefique, YellowBrickRoad, and Antrum: The Deadliest Film Ever Made. (If you're not familiar, this a hilariously idiosyncratic list of widely varying quality, lol. There's a reason you probably haven't heard of most of those.) Maybe, I said, this is the original source of these other things I love!

Unfortunately, while this does promise many horrors, it delivers none of them. Very possibly it was an inspiration for those other things, but in the sense that other people watched this and were like, "okay but what if this were actually a horror movie."

The first hour or so is my favorite; I was genuinely shocked when the sepia filters of the real world give way to full color in the Zone, and there's some great tension as our stalker navigates the Zone using methods that hint at incomprehensible dangers. However, the longer we go without encountering any of those dangers, the harder it is to believe in them. By the time we finally arrive at the possibly magical room, I was more than half convinced that the dangers were all imagined, and the glimpse of two decaying skeletons came too late to change my mind. And then! We DON'T EVEN GO INTO THE ROOM. NO ONE GOES INTO THE ROOM. *flips over table*

Tarkovsky was not trying to make the movie I wanted to watch; he was much more interested in big philosophical questions and really long takes, and I gather this is considered an all-time classic for those reasons.

This was apparently an adaptation-in-name-only of the Strugatsky Brothers' novel Roadside Picnic, which I happen to have already have on hold at the library for unrelated reasons. I'm interested to see how it compares.

Greetings!

Mar. 21st, 2026 08:50 am
jacieleigh: (Pippin springtime)
[personal profile] jacieleigh posting in [community profile] addme_fandom
Name: JacieLeigh
Age group: Legal in all 50 States! I have online friends everywhere from 20s to 70s. As long as you're of age wherever you're from, you're okay with me. No minors, please.
Country: USA

Subscription/Access Policy: I used to post often, but was discouraged by a lack of commenters. Sometimes I'm okay with posting to the void, but sometimes it feels a little sad. I also recently had (minor) surgery, but was under for about 10 hours. I'm just starting to get my energy back, so I haven't been posting much recently. Hopefully, with spring arriving, I'll feel more motivated to post. Anyway, I bounce around on my locking of posts. I do create some public posts, but I have two locked filters as well (one for about everyone friended to my journal, and the other tends to be locked to people I've known for years who actively converse with me, i.e. people I trust with private info), some things I post privately, mostly recipes that I'm not sure will interest other people.

What I chat about: I enjoy dialogue. Mostly, I chat about writing, and cats would be my guess. I also chat about whatever is on my mind at the moment. So, yeah, you never know. It could be fitness, stories, items, a show I've watched, or current events (Poli-chat is rare and tends to be LOCKED). I will say, although I am an Independent, I am NOT a fan of what's going on in my country at this time. Anyone who supports the felon need not apply. Seriously, just no.

I'm looking to connect with people who: Enjoy chatting, seriously, I'm very chatty and love good dialogue. Also, people who love cats, NCIS, and other common interests. I tend to mirror people. I'm generally pretty engaged with those who engage with me. I'm okay with lurkers, but I'm less likely to comment to people who never comment on my journal. Just being honest. It doesn't mean I'm not reading or don't care, but I've had a lot of negative experiences with one-sided relationships in my life. But yeah, if you want to innocently lurk, then lurk, it's fine. If you want to chit-chat, then feel free to comment. I started on LJ in 2004, and have online friends I've known for years, who are from several different countries. I enjoy learning about history, other countries, and cultures. Unfortunately, so many people have left LJ over the years, and not all of them have found their way to DW. I finally made DW my main journal in 2025, but had been cross-posting for a few years before that. I generally don't bother posting to LJ anymore, except my communities.

Main Fandom: NCIS
Other Fandoms: I have written NCIS crossovers with Criminal Minds, NCIS: New Orleans, Ghosts, and SEAL Team
OTP: Gibbs/DiNozzo will always be my OTP, however, I've been known to write Gen or other pairings here and there
What I create for Fandom: Stories and banners, mostly for NCIS challenges these days
Communities that I run: I have several Fandom communities, including NCIS Big Bang, NCIS Reverse Bang, NCIS Discuss, NCIS Challenge, NCIS SeSa, and an NCIS newsletter that posts every week or two.
Where I post my fanfic stories: Mostly AO3

Favourite Movies: Hmmm, there are so many! So, a few favorites in no particular order - A Fish Called Wanda, Hidden Figures, Sneakers, The Sting, Victor/Victoria, A Few Good Men, Men of Honor, The Wrath of Khan, The Voyage Home, Generations, Hair, This is Spinal Tap, Point Break (original), My Cousin Vinny, Apollo 13, The Rutles, The Yellow Submarine, Frozen I & II, The Aristocats, Minions, Ice Age movies, The Emperor's New Groove. Sometimes, I'm a kid at heart.

TV Shows: NCIS (original), NCIS: Origins, Ghosts (US), Fraiser (original and reboot), Friends, SEAL Team, Criminal Minds, School Spirits, Starfleet Academy, The Big Bang Theory, Young Sheldon, Georgie & Mandy's First Marriage, Hell's Kitchen (Gordon Ramsay), Next Level Chef (Gordon Ramsay), RuPaul's Drag Race, Queer as Folk (US), Picard, NCIS: New Orleans, Heartland. I also like to watch documentaries on history and nature. There is also a list of other older shows I also enjoy when I can find them on my sticky post at my journal.

Books: The Chronicles of Narnia, also a fan of Douglas Adams (Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, etc) and Thich Nhat Hanh (Peace is Every Step, etc)
Music: BEATLES!!! Also Simon & Garfunkel, Elton John, The Doors, Styx, Led Zepplin, Abba, Blondie, *NSync, Allman Brothers, and others. I mostly listen to 60s and 70s classic rock, but also enjoy older stuff from the 50s, and classical music. I also listen to alternative music like Linkin Park, System of a Down, Rage Against the Machine, etc. I love harmony stuff like Pentatonix.

Hobbies: Writing, hiking, chatting, photography, history - I'd like to get back to playing the bass guitar, and I'm also trying to learn a bit of Spanish and German via Duolingo.
Volunteer work: I volunteer with a cat rescue

Howdy

Mar. 21st, 2026 07:57 am
jayregee: (Jason Voorhees)
[personal profile] jayregee posting in [community profile] addme_fandom
 Name: Regis
Age group: 40s
Country: USA
Subscription/Access Policy:  I tend to give both subscription and access to anyone that shares their life with me.  ALso, you don't have to mind me being gay.


Favourite Movies: Friday the 13th, A Nightmare on ELm Street, Star Wars, Back to the Future, DC Universe, Marvel Universe, Halloween, Paranorman, Ideal Home
TV Shows: Doctor Who, Eureka, Warehouse 13, Perry Mason, Matlock, Murder She Wrote, Diagnosis Murder, Poirot, Barney Miller, Psych, Monk, Twin Peak, Cadfael, Sherlock, Night Court, My Family, Are You Being Served
Books: Heartstopper, Battle Royale, Who P.p.p.p.plugged Roger Rabbit.
Music: Panic at the Disco, Mika,, Alanis Morrisette, Rolling Stones, Beatles.
Games: Disney's Dreamlight Valley, Mega man, Duck Tales, Epic Mickey
Comics/Anime/Misc: Junjo Romantica, Sekai-ichi Hatsuko, Outlaw Star, Cowboy Bebop, Given, Gravitation, Love Stage

About Me

I'm Jack, a recent retiree looking for a new hobby. Apparently 'annoying my girlfriend' isn't the best use of my days. Her opinion, not mine

I'm a life-long science-fiction and superheroes fan, and a voracious reader. I enjoy movies, fishing, astronomy, and gardening.

I live in Wales with my wife, our girlfriend and an ever growing collection of four-legged friends.

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 01:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios